facebook iconfacebook icon facebook icon twitter icon youtue icon

Denison University

Denison University is a private, coeducational college of liberal arts and sciences.  Founded in 1831 as a literary and theological institution by frontier Baptists, Denison has since evolved into an independently administered and financed university providing students with a challenging academic curriculum of the highest quality and a vast array of diverse extracurricular programs. The University offers three different bachelor's degrees (B.A., B.S. and B.F.A.) among 49 major fields of study.  There are also interdepartmental majors and individually designed majors for those who desire a truly personalized education.

Full-time enrollment is 2,050, divided nearly equally between men and women. About one-third are residents of Ohio and another third are from the Mid-Atlantic or New England regions.  In a typical year, all 50 states are represented and international students come to Denison from more than 30 countries around the world. Ethnic minorities make up approximately 10 percent of the student population.

Denison operates on a two-semester academic calendar from September to May.  The three-week May Term is a period for students to travel or take advantage of numerous internships with professors, corporate organizations and government agencies.  More than 500 courses and 800 classes are offered each year; the average class size is 19, with a student/faculty ratio of approximately 10/1. About half of Denison's graduates continue their education at graduate and professional schools across the United States and abroad.  Each year, Denison grads are accepted to top law, medical, dental and business schools.  The University's Career Development Center assists students in their preparation for these programs.  Adam S. Weinberg became Denison's 20th president on July 1, 2013.

2012 All-NCAC Volleyball Squad Announced

Wittenberg freshman Kara Seidenstricker (London, OH/Jonathan Alder) {right} has been named Player of the Year to highlight the 2012 All-North Coast Athletic Conference volleyball selections.

Wittenberg Claims 2012 NCAC Volleyball Tournament Title

The Wittenberg University volleyball team captured its 18th NCAC Volleyball Tournament title all-time after knocking off DePauw, 3-0, in the championship match on Saturday evening at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio. With the victory, the Tigers have earned the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Div. III Volleyball Tournament and will compete in the national tournament for the 17th year in a row and 18th all-time.

DePauw Takes Home 2012 NCAC Women's Soccer Tournament Title

Fourth-seeded DePauw (4-3-1, 7-10-1) defeated third-seeded Denison (4-3-1, 6-11-2) by a 1-0 margin to capture the program's first NCAC Women's Soccer Tournament title on Saturday afternoon in Granville, Ohio. With the scored tied, 0-0, early in the second-half, DePauw senior Dana Sprague (Dharan, Saudi Arabia/Cushing Academy) settled a long pass, dribbled past a DU defender and launched a shot past a diving Andrea Karl (Powell, OH/Olentangy Liberty) for the games' lone tally.

DePauw Captures 2012 NCAC Field Hockey Tournament Title

DePauw (19-1) claimed its first-ever North Coast Athletic Conference tournament title on Saturday afternoon with a 2-0 triumph over Denison (15-6) in Greencastle. With the scored tied, 0-0, after one half of play, DPU sophomore Paige Henry (Louisville, KY/Kentucky Country Day) gave the Tigers the lead in the 50th minute thanks to an assist from senior Margaret Ellis (St. Louis MO/Whitfield). Ellis, who was named tournament MVP, sealed the victory for the Tigers with her second goal of the tournament and 27th of the year in the 60th minute.

Four NCAC Soccer Players Named To Capital One Academic All-District Squads

The 2012 Capital One Academic All-District Men's and Women's soccer teams, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), were released on Thursday, Nov. 1, and four North Coast student-athletes were recognized on the list. On the women's side, Denison junior goalie Andrea Karl (Powell, OH/Olentangy Liberty) and Wooster senior forward Paige Piper (Midland, MI/Dow) were first-team honorees in District 7, while Hiram senior midfielder Ryan Greenhill (Solon, OH/Solon) and Denison senior midfielder Ryan Torgersen (Spring, TX/Klein) were also first-team selections in District 7 on the men's side.

Capital One Academic All-District Teams: Men's -- Women's

Denison Names New President

Denison University's Board of Trustees announced its selection of Adam Weinberg to be the college's 20th president. Weinberg is currently president and CEO of World Learning, an international nonprofit organization that provides education, exchange and development programs in more than 60 countries. He will assume his duties at Denison on July 1, 2013.

Read more: Denison

Wooster Men; DePauw Women Favored As NCAC Preps For 29th Basketball Season

The DePauw women and Wooster men were tabbed as the favorites in the 2012 North Coast Athletic Conference preseason basketball coaches' polls. The 2012-13 season begins on Thursday, November 15. The NCAC Tournament will be held at the end of February with the men’s and women’s semifinals at the site of the respective high seeds on Feb. 22-23.

2012 NCAC Tournament Central - Tournament Links

The 2012 North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) Fall Tournament action continues today (11/3) as NCAC Tournament champions will be crowned in field hockey, men's soccer women's soccer and volleyball.

NCAC Weekly Release (10-29-12) - Women's Soccer

Wittenberg (7-0-1, 11-3-3) earned its second North Coast championship with a pair of wins last week. The Tigers defeated DePauw, 2-1, and Kenyon, 2-0, to collect their second title all-time. Ohio Wesleyan leads the league with nine titles all-time, followed by Denison (8), Allegheny (7), Wooster (5), Wittenberg (2) and Kenyon (1).

NCAC Weekly Release (10-29-12) - Men's Soccer

Ohio Wesleyan (7-1-1, 13-2-3) earned its fifth-straight North Coast championship with a pair of wins last week. The Battling Bishops defeated Kenyon, 2-0, and Denison, 2-1, to collect their league-leading 21st conference title. Kenyon has won the second most conference crowns with six, followed by Wooster (3), Denison (2) and Wittenberg (1).

Syndicate content