facebook iconfacebook icon facebook icon twitter icon youtue icon

2013 All-NCAC Football Team Announced

2013 All-NCAC Football Team

Wittenberg senior quarterback Reed Florence (South Charleston, OH/Southeastern) and Wabash senior inside linebacker Nate Scola (Gold Canyon, AZ/Apache Junction) have been selected the North Coast Athletic Conference Players of the Year, after voting by the head coaches. Florence is now the sixth player in Wittenberg history to earn the Mike Gregory Award as the NCAC’s Offensive Player of the Year. The award is presented by Richard Gregory of Columbus, Ohio, in honor of his father, a multi-sport standout at Denison in the 1920’s. Scola also becomes the sixth Wabash player in school history to earn the Hank Critchfield Awards as the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. The award is presented in honor of Hank Critchfield, who was a 1927 graduate of The College of Wooster.

Florence {right} has clearly separated himself as the most dynamic offensive player in the league this fall with his dual threat ability as both a passer and a runner for the league champion Tigers. In 10 regular season games, Florence has completed 178-of-264 pass attempts with just six interceptions and 30 touchdowns for a completion percentage of .674 and passing efficiency rating of 186.1 to go along with 329 rushing yards and nine additional touchdowns on 110 carries. He is on pace to break the NCAC’s single-season record for passing efficiency (176.0) and also has his eyes set on the single-season passing touchdown record (34). In addition to his conference accolades, he also became Wittenberg’s all-time leader in touchdown passes as he currently has tossed 66, which is five better than National College Football Hall of Famer Charlie Green’s 61 set from 1961-64.

Scola {left} was the unquestioned leader of the Little Giants’ defensive unit this year that lead the nation in total defense in the regular season after allowing just 220.7 yards per game. In 10 total games this fall, Scola accumulated 72 total tackles (38 solo, 34 asst.), including 23.5 tackles-for-loss, eight sacks, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. His tackles-for-loss total currently ranks third in the nation, trailing only Kenyon senior Kolin Sullivan (Mentor, OH/St. Ignatius) (26.0) and St. Lawrence senior Obi Nwaigwe (24.5).

DePauw senior Barry Flynn (Indianapolis, IN/Cathedral) {right}, a former two-time All-NCAC performer in basketball, competed on the gridiron for the first time this fall for the Tigers and was named the league’s Newcomer of the Year. In 10 games this season, Flynn led the league with 71 receptions, was tied for the league lead with 10 touchdown catches and finished third overall in receiving yards with 889.

Wittenberg head coach Joe Fincham {left} has been named the Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his career after leading the Tigers to their 12th NCAC title in program history with a perfect 9-0 record against league foes. In 18 total season’s at the helm of the Wittenberg football program, Fincham currently owns an overall record of 163-36 and a mark of 111-16 against conference squads. As league champions, Fincham and the Tigers have earned the NCAC’s automatic bid into the 2013 NCAA Division III Football Championships and will play host to Lebanon Valley (8-2) on Saturday, November 23rd, at 12:00 p.m. in the opening round.