facebook iconfacebook icon facebook icon twitter icon youtue icon

All-Sport Trophy

2013-14 NCAC Winter All-Sports Standings

Denison University won two outright winter sport league championships to go along with one second-place finish and one third-place finish to maintain its lead in the race for the 2013-14 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports Championship.

The Big Red secured their sixth-straight league titles in both men's and women's swimming & diving and also posted top-three finishes in women's indoor track & field (second) and women's basketball (third). Denison also finished sixth in men's basketball and seventh in men's indoor track & field to earn 95.5 points and a four-point lead over second-place DePauw (91.5) in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The DPU Tigers won their third-straight league title in women's basketball and posted top-three finishes in three other sports, including men's basketball (tie-second), men's swimming & diving (third) and women's swimming & diving (third).

Ohio Wesleyan, which won the women's indoor track & field title for the eighth consecutive season, is eight-and-a-half points behind DePauw in third-place with 83 points. Kenyon (82.0) placed fourth after finishing second in both men's and women's swimming & diving, while Wittenberg (80.0) is fifth with two top-four finishes and Wooster (71.0) is sixth after winning its 16th league title in men's basketball. Oberlin is seventh with 70.5 points, followed by Allegheny (59.0), Wabash (43.0) and Hiram (24.5). The Little Giants earned their fourth-straight men's indoor track & field title.

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009. Wittenberg earned its second All-Sports title in 2010, followed  by Denison in 2011, DePauw in 2012 and Denison again last year.

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 139 team championships during the NCAC's 30 playing seasons. Denison is next with 127 titles, followed by Allegheny (110), Kenyon (100) , Wittenberg (84), Wooster (78), Wabash (16), Oberlin (13), DePauw (11) and Hiram (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2013-14 All-Sports Standings

  School Points
1. Denison 95.5
2. DePauw 91.5
3. Ohio Wesleyan 83.0
4. Kenyon 82.0
5. Wittenberg 80.0
6. Wooster 71.0
7. Oberlin 70.5
8. Allegheny 59.0
9. Wabash* 43.0
10. Hiram 24.5
  * Wabash is an all-male institution