facebook iconfacebook icon facebook icon twitter icon youtue icon

DePauw Assumes Lead In 2011-12 NCAC All-Sports Race

2011-12 NCAC All-Sports Winter Update

DePauw won one outright league championship to go along with one third-place finish and three fourth-place finishes to vault into the lead in the race for the 2011-12 North Coast Athletic Conference All-Sports Championship.

The Tigers, who are in their inaugural season as members of the NCAC, won the women's basketball title outright and also posted top-four finishes in men's swimming & diving (third), women's swimming & diving (fourth), men's indoor track & field (fourth) and women's indoor track & field (fourth). DPU also finished in a tie for sixth in men's basketball to earn 89.5 points and a three-and-a-half point lead over second-place Ohio Wesleyan (86.0) in the race for the coveted Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy. The Battling Bishops posted top-three finishes in three sports this winter, including the school's sixth-consecutive NCAC title in women's indoor track & field.

Denison (83.0), which won both the men's and women's swimming & diving  titles for the fourth consecutive season, is three points behind the Battling Bishops in third place. Kenyon (76.5) placed fourth after finishing second in men's and women's swimming & diving and tying for second in women's basketball, while Wittenberg (75.0) sits in fifth after taking home the men's basketball crown for the first time since 2004. Allegheny is in sixth (72.0) followed by Wooster (70.0), Oberlin (62.5), Wabash (47.5) and Hiram (37.0). Wabash earned its second-straight men's indoor track & field title.

The All-Sports champion earns the Dennis M. Collins All-Sports Trophy, given annually to the school that performs the best across the NCAC's 23 sports. Ten points are awarded for a first-place finish, nine for a second, eight for a third, and so on. Men's and women's performances are combined, exemplifying the North Coast's commitment to equity and balance among programs. Wooster won three of the first four All-Sports championships, interrupted only by Denison in year two. Ohio Wesleyan followed with a six-year run leading to titles by Wooster (twice), Wittenberg (once), Denison (nine), OWU (twice), a tie between Denison and OWU in 2009, Wittenberg in 2010 and finally Denison's title last year. 

Ohio Wesleyan leads the way with 132 team championships during the NCAC's 28 playing seasons. Denison is next with 119 titles, followed by Allegheny (107), Kenyon (96) , Wittenberg (74), Wooster (72), Oberlin (11), Wabash (11), Hiram (2) and DePauw (2).

North Coast Athletic Conference 2011-12 All-Sports Standings

  School Points
1. DePauw 89.5
2. Ohio Wesleyan 86.0
3. Denison 83.0
4. Kenyon 76.5
5. Wittenberg 75.0
6. Allegheny 72.0
7. Wooster 70.0
8. Oberlin 62.5
9. Wabash* 47.5
10. Hiram 37.0
  * Wabash is an all-male institution